Are you an AHPA member? Log in

Not a member? Join Here

HPJA Reviewer Award

The Professor Chris Rissel Award


Prof Chris RisselProfessor Christopher Rissel was the Editor-in-Chief of the Health Promotion Journal of Australia from 1992 to 1998, and was a founding member of the New South Wales Branch, and President 2001-2003 and 2009-2010. He is still actively involved in the New South Wales Branch of the Australian Health Promotion Association® (AHPA).

He is currently on the Research Evaluation and Evidence for Translation (REET) Committee of the Board, of Australian Health Promotion Association, and on the Editorial Advisory Board of the Health Promotion Journal of Australia. He was awarded a Life Member of the AHPA in 2013.

Professor Christopher Rissel has worked in health promotion in several Area Health Services in New South Wales, and was the Director of the Health Promotion Service in the Sydney and Sydney South West Area Health Services for 10 years. He has over 300 peer-reviewed publications and dozens of research reports.

His research interests now focus on childhood obesity prevention, and the promotion of active travel, particularly cycling. He is interested in the translation of research into practice and relationships between evaluation and policy. He has worked extensively in health promotion in NSW and has extensive experience in planning, implementing and evaluating community-based health promotion.

Health promotion plays and important role in the broader public health and primary health care arena, in contributing to the improvement of the health and wellbeing of individuals, groups and the broader population. The Health Promotion Journal of Australia, is the official publication of the Australian Health Promotion Association, and it aims to facilitate communication between researchers, practitioners and policymakers involved in health promotion activities. The Journal serves as a forum for sharing research and knowledge, and to foster an environment that encourages innovation and critical thinking in the field of health promotion. Many of our members accept the invitation to peer-review for the Journal.

In 2018, the AHPA announced a reward to recognise Chris’ outstanding and distinguished service to the Association and to the Australian Health Promotion Journal. The Australian Health Promotion Association Board endorsed the establishment of an annual award to recognise the contribution Reviewers (peer review by invitation) make to the journal. As past Editor and as an active member of the REET committee the award will be named the Professor Chris Rissel Reviewer Award. The 2018 Inaugural Chris Rissel Reviewer Award was be announced at the 2018 Australian Health Promotion Association Symposium, then each year after that at either the annual scientific meeting or Annual General Meeting.

Assessment of Reviewers

The following data extracted from Wiley Blackwell publishing data base will be used ascertain the potential candidates for consideration.

  • Number of reviews completed in a calendar year
  • Timeliness of review
  • Clarity of review
  • Helpfulness to the author(s)
  • Agree to re-review
  • Current financial member of AHPA

Winner 2023

Dr Caroline Adams - University of South Australia

Winner 2022

Associate Professor Justine Leavy - Curtin University

 Winner 2021

Dr Elizabeth Adamson, Northern Territory.

Professor Chris Rissel Reviewer Award

Winner 2020

Dr Himanshu Gupta, Northern Territory.

Winner 2019

Sarah Clifford from the Northern Territory Branch.

Winner 2018

Professor Robert Donovan, Western Australia

Become an AHPA Member

Enjoy the benefits of access to publications, reduced registration fees to AHPA National Conferences, professional development opportunities and more.

Join Now Find Out More